Thoughts on “Brilliance”

18190538So this book went on my Did Not Finish shelf, but not because I think it’s a bad book. In a lot of ways, I actually think it was very good.

High points include:

  • A clear prose style
  • Really nice character interactions between the protagonist and his children
  • Even better character interactions between the protagonist and his ex-wife, with whom he has a good relationship, even if their marriage did not work out
  • A very cool concept centered around the idea of “gifted” humans, also known as “brilliants”
  • Interesting societal reactions to the emergence of brilliants, ranging from acceptance to exploitation, to hatred to militant defense
  • A decent balance of male and female characters who are given their own distinct personalities and motivations

So, really, if you like action-movie style plots with federal agent protagonists, I think you’d actually really enjoy this one. It’s a cool book. It just ended up being Not My Thing(TM).

Why, you may ask?

A few reasons.

For one thing, while the writing is clear and strong for the most part, there were a couple of interjections that center around the protagonist’s gift that were pretty jarringly inserted, and I found myself disoriented after reading them. They’re not overly long, they just weren’t a thing I particularly enjoyed.

Another thing is that I actually do not enjoy action-movie style plots with federal agent protagonists… who solve most of their problems by punching it. That isn’t quite what happens in this book, but it had that flavor, and things like that all start to blend together for me. I just don’t really enjoy them. Which… may be a tad ironic, considering the stuff I write, but I don’t enjoy consuming it.

So thats why I ultimately switched to a new read instead of finishing this one. Maybe I’ll go back to it, but I don’t really think so. If you like stuff like this, though, I think you’d really enjoy this one, so give it a shot if you’re looking for a new read.

Leave a Reply

