Review – Saga, Vol. 7

51ijekuzjwl-_sx323_bo1204203200_Ahh, Saga. Easily one of my favorite reads. An amazing story with a huge cast of wonderful characters, and art that just keeps getting better and better with each new issue.

Which brings us to the most current release, Volume 7. Or, as I like to call it, the Rip-Your-Heart-Out-and-Dropkick-It-to-Jupiter Volume.

I read this volume in one sitting. Normally, Saga takes me two or three sessions to get through, but not this one. Nope, this one was cover-to-cover in a little over an hour. Not because I wasn’t take the time to enjoy it (far from it!) but because it was impossible for me to put down. And let me tell you, this one just got more and more brutal by the page.

Saga has never been a series for the faint of heart, but wow, this one got even darker than its predecessors. Danger and death lurk around every corner, and even with Hazel’s references to the future and developments in her later life, you really feel that no one–and I do mean no one–is ever safe. There was one point where I just stopped and stared at the final page of a chapter, clutching my heart and whispering, “No…” like every bad movie cliché. And there was another moment where a very disturbing scene took and even more disturbing turn. And that ending… Wow.

I wouldn’t be surprised if something Narrator Hazel says at the very end sparks a debate among Saga fans, but in context, there’s a terrible beauty to the statement, and this volume ends on a soul-ripping, tearjerker of a moment.

So, in close, if you’re a sci-fi / fantasy fan who hasn’t checked out Saga yet and can stomach more mature, graphic material, I highly, highly recommend this series. It won’t always leave you happy, but it is very, very likely to leave you breathless.

Leave a Reply

