2016 Reading Roundup

My personal reading challenge this year was a bit different from last year. Rather than trying to hit a book for certain categories, I had a set number of books that I wanted to read. Technically speaking, I fell a little short of my 25 book goal, but considering the upheaval in the first half of the year, I’m okay with that. Plus, I did find some really good books this year!

Here’s a recap of what I read:

Saga (Vol. 2-5)

I continue to adore Saga and can’t wait for the next volume to come out. I haven’t been going issue-by-issue, preferring instead to buy the full volumes as they’re released, but what I’ve seen of the upcoming story promises to be great. And after that ending in Vol. 6, I’m really looking forward to picking back up with this swashbuckling family.

The rest of Dune

Wasn’t super thrilled with this book (yeah, I said it. And I said it in greater detail, too!) but it’s easy to see how influential it was, and continues to be. It’s an important book to science fiction, and while I didn’t enjoy it, I’m glad I read it.

Song of the Summer King / Skyfire / A Shard of Sun / By the Silver Wind (The Summer King Chronicles)

I enjoyed this series way more than I thought I would. It’s very, very good, and if you enjoy fantasy, I highly recommend it. Especially if you like gryphons (gryfons in this universe) and stories with non-human characters. And even if you don’t like those things, give it a shot. The series is well-written and the characters are highly engaging.

Saga (Vol. 6)

Will just say again that I really love Saga and leave it at that.

Rebel of the Sands

This came at the recommendation of a friend. I wish I had enjoyed it more but unfortunately didn’t. Breaks my heart to say that because I love my friend dearly. Still definitely trust her taste in books, though. Just didn’t like this one due to what I found to be lacking world-building and my inability to connect to the two main characters.

The Three Body Problem

Most of the scifi that I read comes from America or the UK. It was great to finally get ahold of science fiction from another part of the world. This book and it’s two sequels are all great, and this one in particular is hauntingly unnerving. Highly recommend the series as a whole, and definitely this book if you’re only looking for a single book to fill your time.

The Tombs of Atuan / The Farthest Shore / Tehanu (Earthsea Cycle, 2-4)

I really enjoy this series. Ursula Le Guin is a powerhouse writer of the fantasy genre, and if you’re not familiar with her work, you really should be. A Wizard of Earthsea is a great book, and the rest of the series is excellent. I need to reread The Farthest Shore because it strikes me as one of those books that I wasn’t able to fully appreciate the first go-around, and now that I’ve read it once, I think there will be a lot of things that I pick up on the second time that seemed insignificant before.

The Valley of Fear

This was my first Sherlock Holmes book. It won’t be my last, though I did learn after finishing it that I’d managed to join in towards the end of the series. I’d like to start from the beginning the next time I dive into Holmes’s mysteries. I liked it, though the structure of the book didn’t appeal to me. It seems that all of the Holmes books are structured that way, however, so I’m hoping that going in prepared for the cut at the halfway point will let me enjoy the books more.

Into the Black (Odyssey #1)

This was a Did Not Finish for me. I couldn’t get behind the writing style and found too many things jarring, but those who find themselves on the opposite end of the spectrum and enjoy the things that I disliked may find a great series for themselves. It promises quite a few twists and turns, so do give it a shot, if you’re so inclined.

The Great Symmetry

I liked this one a lot. I didn’t get quite what I expected, but it was still a really good read. Definitely recommend it for science fiction fans, but not if you’re hoping for epic space battles. You’ll be disappointed if you’re looking for those.

Buan: The Perfect Mortals

This is a book that I think was published too early, but comes from a young author with a lot of raw talent. I’m very interested in seeing what he produces in the future.

The Dark Forest

This sequel to The Three Body Problem is noticeably different from its predecessor, but as I said before, all of the books in this series are excellent. I enjoyed this one the least out of the three, and can see how some people may not like it at all due to the nature of the central character, but its another haunting book that you must read before the third and final book of the series (which is likely to knock you flat).

Buan: Company of Heroes

Another one for the Did Not Finish shelf. Again, the author has a lot of raw talent, but I wasn’t interested in finishing this book or series.

The House of the Four Winds (One Dozen Daughters #1)

I expected better of this book and was greatly disappointed. It’s not bad, but it could have been so much better. I’m not sure if I’ll pick up the next in the series when it comes out, but I am interested in earlier works from one of the authors. I hear they are far better, and I plan on checking them out.

It Takes a Thief to Catch a Sunrise

Really good! Review coming in 2017!

Death’s End

Pretty amazing. Review coming in 2017!

Updraft

Currently reading… really, REALLY liking it so far! Review coming in 2017!

 

And that’s it for my 2016 reading list! I plan on reading more in 2017, especially now that I have solid blocks of time to dedicate to it as I commute to and from my day job.

2016 total: 22.5 / 25

2017 goal: 30

Leave a Reply

