January is going by uncomfortably fast…

As I sit here writing this, I can’t believe we’re already 17 days into 2016. I feel like we should be back somewhere around day #10 at most. None of this more-than-halfway-through-the-month nonsense. I suppose I have to accept it, though. The only alternative is to curl up in the fetal position in the corner, and and that’s generally only acceptable on April 14 and some time in mid- to late November or early December.

So with 2016 further underway than I would like it to be, I suppose now’s a good a time as any to outline some things that I’m planning to get done.

  • Read more books.
  • Finish outlining book #3 of The Star Hunters
  • Write some Star Federation Database entries for this blog.
  • Move.

The first one is obviously leisure activity to keep me from going insane in between work hours. I’d like to write some reviews of what I read, just to share thoughts and maybe get some dialogues going for those who care to comment. I mentioned a couple of posts back that I want to read more indie books this year, and that’s still a goal of mine. I have a couple of things that I want to read first, though. Like the rest of Dune, which I’m still working through, and Saga, which I’m loving every minute of. More on those when I’m finished with them.

Finish outlining book #3 is pretty self-explanatory. I’d love to start writing too but there’s going to be a lot of upheaval this year (like moving… that will happen), so things will get shuffled around for better or for worse. The future will tell which.

The Star Fed Database entries are another just for kicks thing, though. They’ll be some expanded information on things that appear in The Star Hunters, and they should be fun to write. Those who have read my books may enjoy reading them so stick around for those.

I’m wary of making any very serious long-term goals at this point because there are things that need to happen that are going to force me to restructure my life, and while that’s not a bad thing, it doesn’t bode well for those “Yes, this is the year I will _____!” kind of goals. But I don’t really like making those goals, anyway. We’ll just see how it goes. And if that’s not the most underwhelming close to a post, I don’t know what is. I suppose that’s just what happens when your eyes can see that it’s Jan. 17, but your brain is stuck somewhere back around the 9th or the 10th.

Leave a Reply

