Book 2 FINALLY has a title…

… now it just needs a cover. More on that in a moment.

But, finally, after turning over phrases and throwing words away, ripping up ideas and mashing them back together, I’ve settled on “Unbroken Light” as the title for my second novel.

I feel your pain, stock “Frustrated Writer” photo lady.

It’s funny to me how two words took so much time and energy to be put together. Sometimes, that’s how it has to happen. I’ve had creative projects that had titles set in stone from day 1, and I was totally content with those titles. Others sat untitled for a long time, until something came to me in the middle or near the end of the project. This is the first time where I’ve had to hash and rehash everything so many times over that I lost count. I know I’m not the only writer who’s ever gone through that struggle, but it was a weird feeling, having a full length novel fully written and just in need of a bit more editing sitting around without a title. It’s… almost like not having a name for your child until they’re about 2 years old. Your second child, in this case. You just call it “the book” whenever you need to discuss it with someone. The manuscript I mean. Not the metaphorical child. It would be weird if you referred to your metaphorical child as “the book”.

And yours, other stock photo character.

So, Unbroken Light has a name, the major rewrites have been done, I’m going to go through it with a fine-toothed comb and make sure the grammar and all that jazz is up to snuff, and then I think it will be ready for publication somewhere around mid to late October. It might be possible to put it out sooner, but I’d actually really like to give a Kickstarter a shot and offer up some merchandise alongside (somewhat early access to) the book for those who are interested. Before that happens, though, Unbroken Light needs a face.

I’m hoping that Adam Burn, the artist I commissioned for the Chasing Shadows cover art, can return for Unbroken Light and create the cover image for this novel. He’s very skilled, and I’m still totally in love with the image he produced for the first novel. I’d love to have his art again but if for some reason that cannot happen, I’ll be looking for other space artists to commission for the cover. Anyone know of a good candidate offhand? I do love a good scifi image so any and all suggestions would be welcome!

Other than that, there’s not too much to report. Except, if you like dragons as much as I do, I am holding a giveaway over on Facebook and Tumblr to celebrate two years of being in business over on Etsy. Check them out if interested, and stay tuned for more news about Unbroken Light and the possible upcoming Kickstarter campaign!

Leave a Reply

