2014 in Review

So. We’ve come to the end of 2014. That’s probably a bigger deal for some people more so than others, but personally, I always like to look back on the year and see what I’ve done. I often realize that certain goals were not met, but I think that it’s also important to remember what you did achieve. That’s helped me mentally, and it helps me ground myself for the new year.

It also helps me survive the amazing amount of hype that surrounds a new year.

I don’t know about the rest of you, but January 1st always feels a bit anti-climatic. It always becomes just one more day. And honestly, I think that’s okay.

I do encourage people to do something like this for themselves, though I don’t encourage anyone to linger on bad memories. I’m not going to say that things happen for a reason, because I’ve never fully believed that, but I do believe that we learn from everything, good and bad. And going forward, it is better to remember the good, and carry those memories closer to your heart.

Anyway.

I think that’s enough sickly-sweet ramblings for now. Time to ramble about the things I did this year.

Let’s see.

I joined StoryShift, and while Fire & Feathers is still developing, it’s maintained a pretty solid readership, which has been absolutely amazing. I love that project, I love the community (even if I’m a bit of a lurker as far as the Skype group chat goes), and am so glad I joined.

I published Chasing Shadows on Amazon, which was terrifying and thrilling all at once, and continues to be both terrifying and thrilling. I learned a lot about self-publishing, mostly in the form of things that I should have done before hitting the “publish” button, but, well. That’s knowledge for next time.

I began working on book 2 of the Star Hunters trilogy, got stuck in several pitfalls, pulled myself back out, kept working, and now have almost a fully completed draft to show for it. I have a couple more chapters to write and at least one big rewrite that needs to happen, but the first draft is almost done. That’s exciting.

My Etsy shop hit 100 admirers and is continuing to grow, so that’s pretty cool.

I started this WordPress blog. This amorphous thing of a sort-of-an-author-blog. But I like it, and I hope you do, too.

I saw a bunch of movies. I read not as many books as I hoped to. I played several games, really liked most, was underwhelmed by some, had a few entertaining mishaps in Dragon’s Dogma, fell in love with Dragon Age: Inquisition (still playing that one… no spoilers!). I wrote a lot. Laughed a lot. Cried a bit, I am not too proud to admit. Made dragons, drew pictures, worked a desk job. All those little mundane details that somehow make up a life. Or at least a single year of one.

A lot of these things I can expect to do again in 2015. There are some bigger things that I’m hoping will come to fruition, but for now, right now, I’m just hoping for a good year.

So, to close this rambling post, and my final post of the year, I’ll say that I hope you have a great next year, too. Thanks for reading!

–K.

Leave a Reply

