Here, Have a Top 10…

Today’s Top 10: the books that have been pivotal to my growth and development thus far.

This has been going around my Facebook feed this week. It’s one of the better tag games, in my opinion, and I figured, hey, why not share it here as well. Now total strangers can judge my literary influences instead of just my friends!

In all seriousness, though, I do like this trend, and it’s always interesting to see what others put down. I personally have all fiction titles, and they’re almost all scifi (by at least one stretch of the definition) and fantasy. For some reason, I have never been able to get into non-fiction books, at least not one that left a truly lasting impact on me. Nothing against non-fiction, but fiction always seems to impact me more.

So, in no particular order:

  • A Wizard of Earthsea – Ursual K. LeGuin
  • Warlock – Wilbur Smith
  • Oryx and Crake – Margaret Atwood
  • Neverwhere – Neil Gaiman
  • Lost in the City – Edward P. Jones
  • The Hero and the Crown – Robin McKinley
  • Dealing with Dragons – Patricia Wrede
  • We – Yevgeny Zamyatin
  • Adulthood Rites – Octavia Butler
  • Harry Potter. The entirety of Harry Potter. The whole Potter, if you will. – J.K. Rowling

Some of these books have impacted my writing style. Some of them have made me reconsider some elements of life. Some have fueled my desire and ability to look at things critically, and some are the books that just made me love to read.

 

Leave a Reply

